Intersolar Europe

Exhibition: June 20-22, 2018
Conference: June 19–20, 2018

CONTACT

Speaker Details

Henk Oldenkamp

Oldenkamp
Job Title
Owner
Company
OKE-Services
Country
Netherlands
Bio

Henk Oldenkamp is well-known for the OKE4, one of the first and still smallest micro-inverter in the world, which he developed in the 90’s. He is a pioneer of micro inverter technology with more than 20 years’ experience in the development of micro inverters.

However, Henk started his career at the Wind Energy Group at the Technical University Eindhoven in 1982 after completing his Bachelors’ degree in Electrical Engineering. In 1984 he founded his one-man company OKE-Services. In first instance the activities focused on electronics for renewable energy technologies in general. After completing his Masters in Power Electronics in 1988 he dedicated his work to photovoltaics.

In 1992 he started the development of the OKE4. In 1994 the production and sales of the OKE4 was licensed to NKF. During 1997 – 2002 more than 80 000 units were produced and sold mainly in the Netherlands. Unfortunately NKF stopped its photovoltaic activities in 2003.

Despite this disappointment, Henk continued believing in micro-inverters and started developing a new micro-inverter, the OK4All, with the focus on an integral approach: striving to optimize efficiency, cost and reliability.

In September 2009 SMA Solar Technology AG acquired the OK4All micro-inverter technology platform from Henk. For a couple of years Henk has been working closely together with SMA as consultant regarding micro-inverter technology.

During 2014 and 2015 Henk Oldenkamp dedicated his time to the Little Box Challenge, which was organized by Google and the IEEE. The challenge was to develop the smallest 2 kW power inverter. Henk Oldenkamp was selected as one of the 18 finalists out of 650 teams worldwide.

Though unfortunately Henk did not win the challenge, it gave new inspiration for developing “The True AC-module” and corresponding inverter: a PV-module in which the inverter is fully integrated.

Tuesday

May 30, 2017

04:35 pm

04:45 pm

From Googles Little Box Challenge to The True AC-Module

Innovations@Intersolar Europe

Intersolar Europe

Messe: 20.-22. Juni 2018
Konferenz: 19.-20. Juni 2018

KONTAKT

Speaker Details

Henk Oldenkamp

Oldenkamp
Position
Owner
Firma
OKE-Services
Land
Holland
Bio

Henk Oldenkamp ist bekannt für den OKE4, einen der ersten und immer noch kleinsten PV Mikrowechselrichter der Welt, den er bereits in den 1990ern entwickelte. Er gilt als Pionier der Mikrowechselrichtertechnologie mit über 20 Jahren an Erfahrung in der Entwicklung von Mikrowechselrichtern.

Henk startete seine Karriere in der Windenergiegruppe an der Technischen Universität Eindhoven im Jahr 1982, nachdem er seinen Bachelor im Bereich Elektrotechnik erfolgreich abgeschlossen hatte. 1984 gründete er sein Einzelunternehmen OKE-Services. Am Anfang fokussierte er sich auf Elektronik für Erneuerbare Energie im Allgemeinen. Nachdem er 1988 seinen Master in Leistungselektronik erwarb, widmete er sich ganz der Photovoltaik.

Henk fing 1992 mit der Entwicklung des OKE4 an. Die Produktion und der Verkauf des OKE4 wurden 1994 an NKF lizenziert. Im Zeitraum 1997 – 2002 wurden mehr als 80 000 Geräte produziert, und hauptsächlich in den Niederlanden verkauft. Leider hat NKF in 2003 das Photovoltaik-Geschäft eingestellt.

Trotz dieser Enttäuschung, hat Henk seinen Glauben an dem Mikrowechselrichter nicht verloren, und er begann mit der Entwicklung eines neuen Wechselrichters, dem OK4All, ein integriertes Konzept mit dem Ziel Effizienz, Kosten und Zuverlässigkeit zu optimieren.

Im September 2009 kaufte SMA Solar Technology AG die OK4All Mikrowechselrichter Technologie-Plattform von Henk. Daraufhin hat Henk einige Jahre eng mit SMA als Berater für die Mikrowechselrichtertechnologie zusammen gearbeitet.

Zwischen 2014 und 2015 hat Henk Oldenkamp sich der Little Box Challenge gewidmet, die von Google und dem IEEE organisiert wurde. Es galt die Herausforderung den kleinstmöglichen 2KW Wechselrichter zu entwickeln. Henk Oldenkamp wurde als einer von 18 Finalisten aus weltweit 650 Teams ausgewählt.

Obwohl Henk den Wettkampf am Ende leider nicht gewann, hat es ihm neue Inspiration gegeben um das “True AC-module” und den dazu gehörenden Wechselrichter zu entwickeln; ein Modul in dem der Wechselrichter bereits vollständig integriert ist.

Dienstag

30. Mai 2017

16:35

16:45

From Googles Little Box Challenge to The True AC-Module

Innovations@Intersolar Europe